Shopping Cart

Raymond Jacobs - Gaspésie, 1954 - Exhibition

Raymond Jacobs - Gaspésie, 1954 - Exhibition

Raymond Jacobs - Gaspésie, 1954 - Exhibition

Visit an exhibition of 39 photographs never before shown in Canada. Seen through the eye of seminal New York photographer Raymond Jacobs, these landscapes, portraits, and scenes of life take us to the heart of the Gaspésie in the mid-1950s and possess both significant historical value and an unparalleled photographic aesthetic.

Renowned for creating illuminating documentary photographs, Jacobs immortalizes both the hard work of Gaspé families and the area’s grandiose maritime landscape. From L'Anse-à-Valleau to Percé, the larger-than-life characters seemingly come alive through Jacobs’s photographs. These photos are true historical chronicles and are, at the same time, really touching.

Photo Journalist
Raymond Jacobs (1923-1993) is most well known for his 1950's and 1960's reportage photographs of New York City street scenes and for his portraits of notable subjects including Louis Armstrong, Gloria Swanson, Douglas Fairbanks Jr., Salvador Dali, Earth Kitt, Robert F. Kennedy, Sammy Davis Jr., and Billie Holiday. Mr. Jacobs' photographs have been exhibited extensively and are in the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York. Jacobs also had a successful career as a commercial photographer, creating advertising campaigns for IBM, Pan Am, Campbell and many others. His work has been published in numerous magazines including Esquire, Harper’s Bazaar and Fortune. With his wife Eleanor, Jacobs also popularized Earth Shoes, a counter-culture symbol of the 1970s.

Temporary exhibition - October 17, 2019 until October 4, 2020 

To know more:


Exhibition curated and produced by Vicky Boulay, Musée de la Gaspésie, and Jesse Blatt, The J. Blatt Agency, New York, in collaboration with The Estate of Raymond Jacobs. The prints in this exhibition are Selenium toned Gelatin Silver prints, produced from the original negatives. Printed by John Delaney, Delaney Fine B+W Prints Inc.  

Photographs © Raymond Jacobs Photography LLC. All right reserved.

Panier

Raymond Jacobs - Gaspésie, 1954 - Exposition

Raymond Jacobs - Gaspésie, 1954 - Exposition

Raymond Jacobs - Gaspésie, 1954 - Exposition

Admirez une série de photographies présentées pour la toute première fois au Canada. Les 39 clichés du réputé photographe Raymond Jacobs comportent à la fois une grande valeur documentaire et une esthétique sans pareille. À travers l’œil de ce New-Yorkais, paysages, portraits et scènes de vie vous transportent au cœur de la péninsule d’antan! 

Réputé pour créer des images fortes, Jacobs immortalise tant le dur labeur des familles gaspésiennes que les paysages maritimes grandioses. De L’Anse-à-Valleau à Percé, ces personnages plus grands que nature prennent littéralement vie sous vos yeux. Les photos constituent de véritables chroniques historiques dont il ressort à la fois un élément touchant et une grande liberté.

Reporteur photographique
Raymond Jacobs (1923-1993) est surtout reconnu pour ses scènes de rue de New York des années 1950-1960 et pour ses portraits de personnalités incluant Louis Armstrong, Gloria Swanson, Douglas Fairbanks Jr., Salvador Dali, Earth Kitt, Robert F. Kennedy, Sammy Davis Jr., ou encore Billie Holiday. Ses photographies ont été largement exposées et font partie de la collection permanente du Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Jacobs a aussi réalisé une brillante carrière comme photographe commercial, créant des campagnes publicitaires pour IBM, Pan Am, Campbell et bien d’autres. Son travail a été publié dans de nombreux magazines dont Esquire, Harper’s Bazaar et Fortune. Enfin, avec sa femme Eleanor, il a popularisé les Earth Shoes, un symbole de la contre-culture des années 1970. 

 

Exposition temporaire - 17 octobre 2019 au 4 octobre 2020

 

Pour en savoir plus : 

 

L’exposition est produite par les commissaires Vicky Boulay, Musée de la Gaspésie, et Jesse Blatt, The J. Blatt Agency, New York, en collaboration avec la succession Raymond Jacobs. Les photographies présentées sont des tirages à la gélatine argentique au sélénium, réalisés à partir des négatifs originaux, et imprimés par John Delaney, Delaney Fine B + W Prints Inc. 

Photographies © Raymond Jacobs Photography LLC. Tous droits réservés.