The Gaspésienne no 20

Permanent exhibition - June to October

Come aboard and look at the Gaspésienne no 20, an authentic cod fishing boat, on the shore of the magnificent Gaspé Bay! A rare survivor of its generation, it has had a thorough make-over and now looks just like it did. Thanks to a community effort in the summer of 2016, the boat has been restored to its original colours and once again has all the gear it needs to go cod fishing.

Between 1955 and 1960, fifty Gaspésiennes were built to designs by naval architect Howard Chapelle. Inspired by the old barges, they modernized Gaspesian fishing. As a result, fishermen now travelled further and further afield, notably to the North Shore and Anticosti Island.

Virtual reality
Take To The Sea!

Have a seat, make yourself comfortable and put on your Oculus Quest headset. It’s 1963 and you’re out on the water, far from land, in the company of two friendly Gaspé Peninsula fishermen: Thomas and Jos of Newport.

With your movie camera, it’s your job to film the journey of a documentary film producer from Montréal who, although he’s seasick, wants to learn all about fishing techniques, the history of the Robins and especially, life aboard one of those legendary ships known as the Gaspésiennes. Beware of storms!

Take To The Sea, an immersive journey and unique experience featuring innovative technology...in 360 degree-surrouding!

Take To The Sea
A virtual reality film produced by the Musée de la Gaspésieand Idées au cube. Starring Stéphan Côté, Pierre-André Bujold, Blaise Tardif and Larry Day. Original versions in English and French, subtitled in Spanish and Mandarin.

TAKE TO THE SEA WAS ACCOMPLISHED THROUGH PLAN CULTUREL NUMÉRIQUE DU QUÉBEC IMPLEMENTED BY THE MINISTÈRE DE LA CULTURE ET DES COMMUNICATIONS DU QUÉBEC AND THE GASPÉSIENNE NO 20 WAS ACCOMPLISHED WITH THE FINANCIAL PARTICIPATION OF :

All the exhibitions

La Gaspésienne no 20

Exposition permanente - Juin à octobre

Montez à bord et admirez la Gaspésienne no 20, un authentique bateau de pêche à la morue, située à l’extérieur, en bordure de la magnifique baie de Gaspé! Rare survivante de sa génération, elle a retrouvé ses airs de jeunesse, ses couleurs originales et ses équipements grâce à la mobilisation de la communauté à l’été 2016.

Entre 1955 et 1960, cinquante Gaspésiennes ont été construites selon les plans de l’architecte naval Howard Chapelle. Inspirées des anciennes barges, elles ont permis de moderniser la pêche en Gaspésie. Les pêcheurs se rendent ainsi de plus en plus loin, notamment sur la Côte-Nord et l’île d’Anticosti.

Réalité virtuelle
Partez en mer!

Assoyez-vous confortablement et mettez votre casque Oculus Quest. Vous voilà en pleine mer, en 1963, en compagnie de deux sympathiques pêcheurs gaspésiens : Thomas et Jos de Newport.

Avec votre caméra, vous devez filmer le périple d’un documentariste montréalais qui – bien qu’ayant le mal de mer – souhaite découvrir les techniques de pêche, l’histoire des Robin et, surtout, la vie à bord de ces mythiques bateaux appelés «Gaspésiennes». Attention aux tempêtes!

Partez en mer, un voyage immersif, une technologie nouvelle et une expérience unique...en 360 degrés!

Partez en mer
Un film en réalité virtuelle produit par le Musée de la Gaspésie et Idées au cube, mettant en vedette Stéphan Côté, Pierre-André Bujold, Blaise Tardif et Larry Day. Version originale française et anglaise, sous-titres en espagnol et mandarin.

PARTEZ EN MER S’INSCRIT DANS LE CADRE DE LA MISE EN ŒUVRE DU PLAN CULTUREL NUMÉRIQUE DU QUÉBEC ET LA GASPÉSIENNE NO 20 À ÉTÉ RENDU POSSIBLE GRÂCE À LA PARTICIPATION FINANCIÈRE DE :

Toutes les expositions